Love is all there is

“That love is all there is, is all we know of love.” ~ Emily Dickinson

I have a beautiful wooden box with those words inscribed on the top, given to me by a very good friend, one of my best friends. David says I have more best friends than anyone he has ever known. Yet, if I were to rank them top to bottom, I couldn’t do it, because each one brings something unique to our relationship, and I love them all dearly. I can say for sure that my number one best friend is my husband.

Forty years ago today, I woke to the sound of rain pounding on the tin roof of my home, thinking, “Well, there goes that old adage, that happy is the bride the sun shines on.” The wedding we planned just happened to coincide with the next to the last day of the county fair, a very big deal in our community, probably bigger than a wedding. And, of course, it always rained during fair week. Nevertheless, the plans commenced.

About an hour or two before the ceremony was to begin, the sun broke through the clouds and poured its blessing on our union. We were young and unemployed, David fresh out of Ohio University with a degree in chemical engineering, and I, a dropout from the same institution, embarking on a journey with no road map.

There have been many bumps on that road, and sometimes it has been twisty and turny, as we like to say down home in the hills where sometimes you feel like you meet yourself coming and going. We have had many joys, many trials, and a few seemingly insurmountable heartbreaks, but we keep on keeping on. I married a man who is steadfast and true, who had to endure my growing up within our marriage. I have never once doubted his fidelity or his commitment to me or to our family. He is the most honest man I have ever known and he loves unconditionally, and never holds a grudge. I love him with all my heart and soul. He is my best friend.

Image

16 thoughts on “Love is all there is

  1. This is so beautiful Susan… It is so nice to hear that someone is still happy with their spouse these days… I was blessed to be there for your wedding. You looked so beautiful and David so handsome.. Thank you for sharing these insightful words with all of us.. Have a wonderful anniversary dear.. Love to you both !

    Like

    • Thank you, Brenda. Of course, we’re human and things aren’t always sweetness and light, and we both do things that get on each other’s nerves, but at the end of the day, we still want to see the other one’s face when we wake up in the morning, and I think that’s what it’s all about. Love you!

      Like

  2. Well, you made me cry. Congratulations to you and David, and I look forward to what you’ll have to say in ten years, as you celebrate your 50th!

    Like

  3. In a way, I envy you, Susie. In this era of divorce, the happy celebration of a 40-year marriage is a bit of a rarity. It’s not just that you have loved and cared for each other enough to stay together this long, but that your history together has made for tens of thousands of threads that hold you fast to each other, that comfort you, that give you a strength that the majority of divorced couples lack. It does really make me happy to know that you have this kind of a relationship with a clearly wonderful guy, and that no matter what, he has and will be there for you.
    You are also a special person, and had David been the writer of this piece, I don’t think it would have sounded much different. Isn’t it just plain amazing when people find the right other people??
    Love to you, and thanks for responding to your friend’s nudge. It’s lovely to read you again.

    Like

    • Deb, I’ve been missing you lately! Thank you for your insightful words, and maybe I’ll get David to start a blog….umm, probably not, but it’s a nice thought. 🙂

      I might just be able to get back to writing here, but not Bear Swamp.

      Love you, lady!

      Like

  4. You made me cry, Girlfriend. David is a good name. I married one too who is also an engineer. We married late in life so I doubt we will see 40 years of wedded bliss… I can only hope to live to age 93 to also celebrate as many years with my fella as you have with yours. Love you!

    Like

    • Sorry I’m just now getting back to you, Diane! We were on vacation, then busy when we got back, and I just now remembered I had a couple of unanswered comments. 🙂

      Those Engineer Davids are pretty darned good guys, I must say! I hope you both will have a long and happy life together. That would be quite a milestone if you make it to 93! Love you, sweetie! 🙂

      Like

  5. Friends are a blessing, and to be married to your very best friend is the golden mantle of blessings. To grow with each other, to be steady and faithful companions, to finish each others sentences, travel together, and laugh and cry together—your bond is unbreakable. Thank God.

    Hugs and kisses and big celebrations for a major milestone! May we always find something to celebrate together every year. 🙂

    Like

    • Ruthie, you could have been describing yours and Don’s marriage as well! Don’t think I didn’t notice. 🙂 What a grand and glorious celebration we had…the best yet, and you and Don were a big part of the reason. I think we could always make up a reason to celebrate together…who’s going to stop us? :))

      Like

Leave a Reply

