Just call me thrifty

I love thrift stores. I search them out wherever I go, if I have time. There’s one near my buddy Cindy’s house in Butler County, Ohio. Every time I visit her, we go to scope out what other people deemed no longer worthy of their homes. The reason I love this one is there is no rhyme or reason to their pricing system. It seems to depend on who is doing it, and whatever mood they happen to be in at the time. They have a LOT of junk to peruse, but there have been some real gems.

I’ve found nearly brand-new cloth napkins there, whole sets of eight or twelve, for $.69 each, some I’ve found for $1.99 each. I collect quilted pillow shams, which I use on all my beds. Why do people get rid of these? Most of them look like they’ve never laid on a bed, and some of them are just beautiful, some are run-of-the-mill, but still perfectly usable (after a good washing). They are priced anywhere from $.99 to $2.99.

My best, and most exciting, find was a queen-sized IKEA down-alternative comforter and duvet cover, in great condition, for $6.99. I was thrilled. Nothing gets me excited like finding a great bargain. I brought that thing home in a garbage bag, so any nefarious creatures would be contained, washed it twice in hot water, and it was wonderful and warm on my guest bed.

I’ve been looking for twin-sized comforters or quilts for the two sets of bunk beds in my house. So, the last time I was visiting Cindy, I found another IKEA comforter ($12.99, again the inconsistent pricing), twin-size, with duck down and feathers that kind of smell, even after being laundered three times, but that’s the nature of them. My solution to this small problem was a duvet cover. I wanted a flannel one, but after checking prices on a few websites, the least expensive one I could find was $59 for a plain Jane one at Lands’ End. Now, I don’t know about you, but I’m not spending $59 to cover a $12.99 comforter on a kid’s bed.

I got my thinking cap on, and ding-ding-ding! The twin flannel flat sheets from the sets that the boys use. They never use the top sheets, preferring the feel of their fleece blankets next to them, and when I try to force it, they just kick them to the bottom of the bed.  Passive-aggressive behavior? I don’t know, but it’s a small thing, and I try not to sweat the small stuff. There’s enough big stuff to be sweating over.

I got out my trusty sewing machine and put the cover together pretty quickly. I cut the hemmed part off the bottom of both sheets and used that to make ties for the inside bottom so the comforter wouldn’t shift around as much inside the cover. I left the hemmed sides intact, and didn’t have to finish the edges.  I made buttonholes at the top and found buttons in my cache from past sewing projects that mostly match the colors, which are sky blue and white, snowman theme. That is one warm comforter, and heavy. I’ll have to make another one for summer, but it was so easy that the biggest challenge will be finding the sheets to do it.

I’m feeling good about saving money, and that’s a good thing, because it’s leaving my purse by the bucket load with the preparations for Thanksgiving in full swing. More about that later.

See you soon.

Susan

5 thoughts on “Just call me thrifty

    • Ruthie, my craftings can’t compare to your lovely quiltings, but it serves the purpose, and right now that’s what matters. Maybe if I ever work up the nerve to try it, I might attempt a few things like you’re doing. Until then, I’ll enjoy looking at your pretty and creative mug mats and placemats. 🙂

      Like

      • If you could see how badly our bedding needs replacing! No pretty quilts on our beds. I guess it’s what they say about the tailor’s children. Seeing to the needs of the household is a beautiful task that you do quite artistically. So don’t even go there, honey pie. 🙂

        Like

  1. I love thrift stores. When I moved into Dad’s after his stroke, I frequented one that was only a couple of miles from his house. I found just about everything I needed there, and we needed everything. There wasn’t a full set of dishes in the house. It was fun to do it, too. It’s the thrill of the find. You got some really good buys. Fun, isn’t it?

    Like

    • Oh, gosh, yes! I wish I had the time to go farther afield to look for more of them. Of course, I might turn into a hoarder, in that case. 🙂 I can tell you, the opposite of your dad’s situation is true at my in-laws’ house. We’ll have to have an estate sale there, and have someone come in and organize it. I don’t think they’ve gotten rid of one single thing in the 54 years they’ve been married, and my MIL used to collect Depression glass. She’s got it sitting all over the place, plus there are boxes of it in the garage attic. It will be very interesting just to see what all is there.

      Like

Leave a Reply

