T’was a week before Thanksgiving…

I’m making Kroger rich. Seriously. It takes a truckload of food to feed this hungry horde of seven people in any given month, but Thanksgiving, lordy, do I need to say more? Probably not, but I will anyway, because otherwise there would be no point to this post. Kroger had a BIG sale last week on Land of Lakes butter, Carnation evaporated milk, and all things Thanksgiving related. It took me three tries to find those needed items in stock. Apparently everyone in our town and the surrounding area had the same notion that I did. I bought six pounds of butter, thinking that it would get me through the Christmas season as well. Ha! I’ve already used two pounds. We had a birthday yesterday (Kaitlyn turned nine), and I had to use up some peanut butter that had been shoved to the back of the pantry, so I made a double batch of peanut butter cookies, half of which went into the freezer. Then I made peanut butter fudge and chocolate fudge. I normally don’t do that until Christmas, but some of the family who visits on Thanksgiving aren’t here for Christmas, and I decided to gift them with some for their journey home. They’ll thank me later, when they step on the scale.

I bought the turkey yesterday. The fresh ones were put out on Monday, and I wanted to get mine before they were picked over. I usually buy the biggest one I can find. I was hoping for a twenty-pounder, at least. The largest I could get was about nineteen pounds, so I also bought a turkey breast (for which I paid as much as the whole turkey.) My favorite brand is Honeysuckle White. They have a new offering in the fresh market this year—an all natural turkey raised by independent farmers. I don’t know how much stock you can put in that statement, but the packaging is pretty, and I’ve always had very good results with their turkeys. They’re always moist and flavorful without the hassle of brining.

I don’t go in for fancy-schmancy cooking methods for the most part. I’m old school most of the time. But I do love roasted Brussels sprouts. That will be one of my side dishes. I bought those on the stalk at Trader Joe’s last week. I love the ease of roasting them. Cut the big ones in half, leave the smaller ones whole, toss them all with some olive oil, grated orange rind and the juice of the orange, kosher salt, fresh ground pepper, and some chopped fresh sage (or crumbled dried). The amounts don’t have to be precise. It’s all good.

I gave my daughter a list of things to buy and forgot that I assigned cranberries to her, so I also bought some yesterday. I have five packages of cranberries in the fridge now. Lots of cranberry dishes this year. Well, I’ve been wanting to try some Christmas jam, so if you’re on my Christmas list…

Speaking of duplicating, I also forgot that I told her to buy pecans for the pecan pies and bought two packages myself. Also forgetting about all the hickory nuts waiting to be shelled for the hickory nut pie (very similar to pecan pie.) David shelled them out this morning while I went for a haircut, and there are enough to make one good sized pie. If you accused me of having senior moments,I’m afraid you would be correct. In my own defense, I would blame it on having too many things to remember, and not enough brain to contain it all. I rest my case.

In case you’re interested, here is my Thanksgiving menu, which never varies, except for the vegetable choices from year to year.

Roast turkey (duh)

Savory turkey gravy

Dressing made with a variety of breads, including biscuits

Oyster dressing (because my father-in-law adores it)

Roasted Brussels sprouts

Steamed broccoli (because the kids won’t eat the sprouts)

Mashed potatoes (ten pounds, and they eat every scrap)

Candied sweet potatoes with maple syrup and marshmallows on top

Cranberry salad with apples, nuts, and oranges

Cranberry sauce made with fresh ginger, orange peel, and orange juice

Cranberry jelly from the can (because, again, the FIL likes it that way)

Homemade dinner rolls 

Pumpkin, pecan, and apple pies

Yep, it’s a sleep-inducing carb fest extraordinaire, but we wouldn’t have it any other way.

See you soon,

Susan

11 thoughts on “T’was a week before Thanksgiving…

  1. Oh, your menu sounds wonderful. We always have oyster stuffing, too. We are oyster people. My brother is in the industry. We never have a big family gathering without seafood on the menu.

    One year, we were having a big family gathering at my house. I bought a couple of pounds of butter. When my sister arrived from Florida, she brought two pounds (who brings butter from FL to VA?). We laughed about how we would never want to run out of butter. Then my brother arrived, and I overheard him tell his son to go to the his car and get the three pounds of butter out of the cooler. 🙂 We love our butter… unfortunately.

    I know what you mean about those senior moments. I bought asparagus a few weeks ago, snapped the ends off, washed it and put it in a bowl of water in the fridge until dinner. I cooked dinner and completely forgot about the asparagus.

    I’m so glad you’re back to blogging. I’ve really missed your wonderful posts.

    Like

    • Bella, I’m so happy to have you visiting my humble little place. It feels so good to be back to writing. I’m trying to keep it simple here without a lot of hoopla, and as you’ve noticed, not many pictures, although I love photography. I just don’t have time for it, and I don’t want to get bogged down in thinking I have to have it here. I just want to write when the mood hits me and I feel like I have something to say, and with my limited time, sometimes it has to be fast.

      Well, my motto is there’s never too much butter in the house. I use it for everything that I can’t use olive oil in. My other motto is everything in moderation, except butter. LOL. I haven’t even started baking the Christmas cookies yet, so I’m sure there will be another run on the butter section at Kroger. 🙂

      I really like the oyster dressing, too, and pretty much all seafood. You and I would get along wonderfully. I have to keep it separate and labeled when my brother-in-law and mother-in-law are here, though, as both of them are allergic to all shellfish. My mom loved oysters. She and my Aunt Marie pronounced it “orsters”. We lived far out in the country where there was no access to fresh ones, so she would buy the canned ones once a year and make herself some oyster stew. You know the kind, just the oysters, milk, butter, salt and pepper. I remember once when I was pretty young that Aunt Marie invited us over for an oyster fry. I have no idea where she got them, but I’ve never seen my mom so excited. I wish I had had the sense to ask her where she got her love for them. She never lived near a coastal town, her family were all from Germany…I’ll have to ask my sister and brother if they know. I really love a good oyster po’ boy, too. Ate a few of those when we lived in Louisiana.

      Have a wonderful day!
      xoxo

      Like

    • Hello, my dear darling favorite sister! I didn’t expect to see you here! I wish with all my heart that you could spend the holidays with me. I would love to cook for you and have the time to just sit and talk to you. Of course, if I were cooking I probably wouldn’t have much time for talking. 🙂

      I love you very much and I miss you. I hope your Thanksgiving is a good one.
      Your favorite Sister. 🙂 ❤

      Like

  2. Susan!!! I was so glad to hear from you!!! I wanted to respond via e-mail but I cannot find your address for some reason. I thought I had it. I always think of you and wondered how you were. Anyway, as far as Thanksgiving, my parents won’t be down here this year (it will be closer to Xmas) so we were going to combine forces with our friends and celebrate together. Until my 16 year old broke down in tears and claimed I’d devastated her life by taking away a “family celebration”. OMG the drama. So I guess I’ll make a small feast for just the four of us (even though everyone is picky) then join friends for the dessert. Teenagers.

    Like

    • Hi Sandy!! It’s getting to be like old home week here! I’m so glad to see you here, and to be reading your blog as well.

      We just entered into the realm of teenagerdom this fall (for the second time around.) Our oldest grandson turned 13 last month, but so far he isn’t moody. I’m dreading when our granddaughter (who lives with us) turns into one, because she’s already moody and dramatic at age nine, so I can’t even imagine what it’s gonna be like with her. I might run away.

      I like that young adults, away from home or without the usual traditions, have adopted the “friendsgiving” holiday. New traditions are just as important as old ones.

      I hope you and your family have a lovely Thanksgiving celebration, even with just the four of you.

      Like

  3. This both makes me really really tired, and makes me want to be in the vicinity so you could add a chair for me at the table. I have entertainophobia, so the idea of having that many people for dinner (or any people for dinner) makes trekking cross the Sahara seem like fun.
    But what you do for your family goes way beyond feeding them a good meal at Thanksgiving. You are a carrier of tradition, a link to the past and the future, the maker of memories, and the facilitator of love. Did you know that, Susie?? 😉
    I admire your energy and your willingness to go all out even if you don’t always feel like it 100%. A medal for the lady, please.

    Like

    • Hi Deb! Yeah, it makes me really tired to think about it all, too. I’m not really into entertaining that much either, but it does help motivate me to clean the house from top to bottom, which is not quite as easy as it used to be. There’s a lot of house here. I get some help from the others, but some can be more of a hindrance than help. Not naming any names, but one is under 3 feet tall, and the other is under 5 feet and wears a lot of pink, which mostly ends up on her floor or stuffed under the bed and behind the dresser. So much easier, you know, than walking 5 feet to the laundry chute.

      You have me pegged, though. I am a traditionalist at heart, and I don’t just do it for them, but for myself. It keeps me grounded. And, hey, I’ll take all the medals I can get. 😉

      BTW, are you still in Calgary, or back in France, living the good life?

      Liked by 1 person

      • I am tingling with anticipation for your new post!!! I hope my being here again inspires you to write regularly as well. I’m enjoying it, I truly am. I don’t feel the pressure here that I did at BSR, and I think I really needed the outlet. And here, I have the best people visiting. 🙂

        You surely archived some of your best pieces from Temptation of Words, though, right? There was some very good stuff there, lady.

        Like

Leave a Reply

