Winter. Ugh. Tea, syrup, and sunsets. Good.

Winter is not my favorite season, not even close. The kids were supposed to go back to school last Tuesday after their “winter” break. They went a total of one day. So far, this week is starting off with a bang, too. There’s a two-hour delay this morning, because we had freezing rain for most of the night. I looked outside, and it looks like about a half-inch of solid ice coating everything. I doubt that’s going to melt anytime soon. I’m surprised that we still have electricity and internet. I suspect that the end result will be a call in an hour or so canceling the remainder of the day as well. Yippee. Hallelujah. Where’s the Tylenol?

There are very few things that I like about winter. Fires in the fireplace are nice, but you can’t have one when it’s in the single digits, because then you’re just sending your expensive heat up the chimney, for the most part. Sunrises and sunsets can be extraordinary, especially here in the flatlands with no hills to block out the view. I love a brilliant red sunset with bare tree branches silhouetted in the distance. Red sunrises, if you believe the old sailor’s warning, can spell trouble later in the day (like yesterday), but they make the sky look as if it’s on fire. That’s something wonderful to watch while you drink your morning coffee.

DSC_0003

Sunset

Since we, mostly David, started producing maple syrup three years ago, that has become one of my favorite things about winter. We had been buying syrup from local producers in the adjoining county, which has an abundance of maple trees, but when David retired and was looking for a project, a friend who was visiting from Michigan suggested he try making syrup. Being an engineer by profession, he researched and designed and planned the heck out of his new hobby. A good strategy, of course, and it has paid off very well. His first year was the learning year, but he still managed to make quite a lot and sell a lot at the local farmer’s market. Last year, he designed a reverse osmosis system to remove about 50% of the water to speed up the evaporation process. He made 17 gallons of beautiful amber liquid gold, even though it was a short season. Ironically, he couldn’t sell it at the market, because there was no time due to the moving, so we had a LOT to give away to friends and family, and for our own use. We use it to sweeten pretty much everything that doesn’t require sugar for structure, such as cookies.

DSC_0153

The made in the USA evaporator doing its work.

Probably my favorite thing about winter is tea. I love hot tea, all kinds. I can’t really drink it in the summer, because it makes me break out in a sweat. Coffee doesn’t, but hot tea does. I don’t know why.

Black tea (Lipton’s is the best), rooibos, herbal, fruity blends, cinnamon-y ones. Coffee is my wake-up call. I set the pot to be ready in the morning, so when I head down the stairs, I can smell it wafting up to me, calling my name. But tea saves me from killing people who are stuck inside because of bad weather. I can drink it all day long.

My favorites right now include loose teas that I bought from Tea Forte´. African Solstice, English Breakfast, and Earl Grey, which is amazing. If you’ve never used loose Earl Grey, you haven’t really experienced it.  I also love their cute individual tea pyramids. I bought their Kati brewing system, the one with the birds. It doesn’t have a handle, but it’s double-walled, so the tea stays hot longer. Tazo faves are Zen and organic baked cinnamon apple. Then there’s Yogi Detox and Stress Relief. Good Earth Sweet and Spicy. Lemon and Raspberry Zingers and Sleepytime from Celestial Seasonings. Yep, there’s a whole cabinet shelf dedicated to tea. It’s my winter blahs therapy.

P1020132

Sunrise, Butler County

BTW, they just called to say school is canceled.

See you soon,

Susan

Addendum: I should really reread my previous posts, as I duplicated some maple syrup talk in this one. Oh well. It’s good stuff and bears repeating. 🙂

10 thoughts on “Winter. Ugh. Tea, syrup, and sunsets. Good.

  1. Wow — you really know your tea! For a minute I thought I was on Marilyn’s blog! I’m a tea-girl too, though I’m pretty sure not so much as you! I’ve certainly been going through my stash (as in pile, not the brand) this winter! And yes, I heard you were getting hit with more ice down there. Be careful!

    That maple syrup looks fabulous! Since the kids got big and moved on, pancake Sundays aren’t part of our regular routine anymore (unfortunately!). But oh, that real stuff is the best! Seventeen gallons is a ton, especially when you consider that most packaging is in quarts or much less! I hope this is a good season for it — he sounds pretty smart to invent his system!

    Like

    • I forgot about Stash teas! I like that brand too! 🙂 David only did 4 or 5 full gallons. The rest were smaller quantities. We had a lot of pints left that we’ve been handing out left and right. Too bad you don’t live close, Jeanie. You would have to make some pancakes. Or you could do what I do and use it on oatmeal.

      Like

  2. Those sunset photos are gorgeous. We need all the color we can get this time of year, and how much more vibrant sunsets are when everything is so colorless.

    Oh, my gosh on the school cancelations. Kids penned up all day… Whew. No matter how much you luv ’em, right?

    That’s so funny about hot tea making you sweat in summer. I never heard that before. We are tea lovers and maple syrup lovers, too. I have a cabinetful of tea, too. I’ve always said that the worst thing about maple syrup is that after you taste it, you can never eat Aunt Jemima’s again. We are never without it.

    Hopefully school will be open tomorrow. Fingers crossed.

    Like

    • Thankfully it has been warm enough today for them to go outside and use up some energy, so they haven’t started driving me crazy yet. But there’s still a lot of day left. We’re supposed to get 4 inches of snow tonight, so who knows what tomorrow will bring.

      I have no idea why tea does that to me, but not coffee. I’m just weird, I guess.

      Oh yes, I can’t eat pancakes or waffles anywhere but home now. It’s so darned good. David says he might actually recoup his investment in another ten years or so. Haha.

      Like

  3. Okay, I’m all caught up. I cannot believe I was so far behind. I’ve left comments everywhere. Thank you so much for linking to Cul-de-sac. Now, I have to copy that muesli recipe for H. Thanks.

    Like

  4. This is like reading an updated version of Little House on the Prairie, for baby boomers, and with way more funnies. Want to know something? I need a humour graft and you are my preferred donor. Now that I’ve had my treat for the day I’ll carry on with my own post. (I know, you’ve heard that before. But really, I’m nearly there).
    Big Canadian hug to you.

    Like

    • Deb, I’ll donate part of my funny bone to you any day, but I don’t think you need it. I was a big fan of Little House on the Prairie, first the books, then the TV show. I like that comparison. Guess I’ll have to start calling myself Ma Drummond. 🙂

      Can’t wait to read your post! A big Ohio hug to you! xoxo

      Like

  5. Enjoyed your post, Susan! Your tea habit is similar to mine…I’ve placed the Kati brewing system on my Amazon ‘wish list’! Our weather seems the same too! Alivia likes school, but rejoices when it’s a snow day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

