What I wrote

If you read yesterday’s post, then you will know that I was considering a letter to my former high school teacher, Mrs. Sublette. I thought I would share with you what I wrote. It’s in the mail. Please be kind.

 

Dear Mrs. Sublette,

 

I am hoping that you are the Patricia Sublette who taught English at Symmes Valley High School from 1968 until 1970. If you are not, then, hopefully, you will enjoy this letter anyway. I’m sorry to be typing instead of writing by hand, but I have arthritis in my hands, and you will have a much easier time of reading it this way.

 

My name is Susan (Jenkins) Drummond, and you were my English teacher for my freshman and junior years. I don’t know if you will remember me. I’m sure that I did nothing to set myself apart from all the other students you must have had over the years, but I wanted you to know that I have always remembered you fondly.

 

Of all of the teachers that I had in middle school and high school, you were the teacher who taught me more than anyone else. I have always spoken highly of you. Because of you, I was able to understand and read poetry properly. Because of you, Shakespeare was no longer a mystery. Because of you, I learned to use grammar correctly, in speaking and in writing. My only wish was that our curriculum at the time had been more focused on writing, or that there had been a creative writing class. I know that you had nothing to say about that. It was a different place and time. Things are so much different for high school, and even middle school, students now. The focus is on getting every student into college, not just a select few.

 

I graduated as valedictorian of my class (1971), and received a full-tuition scholarship to attend Ohio University’s Ironton branch, when it was in its infancy. Alas, I only attended for one quarter before dropping out to get married. My biggest regret is that I didn’t take full advantage of my good fortune to continue my education. I suppose you could say that I have self-educated through reading. I have always been a voracious reader, and now I write on a blog. I write about daily life and sometimes current events, and I do a few book and movie reviews. It is gratifying to have other people read and appreciate what one has to say, and to read other “ordinary” people’s thoughts and ideas. I have found that there is an amazing number of talented and creative women who write on blogs.

 

Computers and the internet have changed the world and the way people learn. I don’t know if you have embraced this way of learning, but I love it. The only downside I can see is that, in some ways, it can make one’s brain a little lazy. It is so easy to just look up an answer on the internet, rather than searching one’s brain, or the library, for it.

 

I don’t want to bore you by going on and on, but I think you would want to know a little about my life, before I go. I married David Drummond (Symmes Valley, class of ‘68) and we had three children. He is a retired chemical engineer, who worked for Ashland Chemical for 37 years. I was mostly a stay-at-home-mom, making things easy for him with his long hours and travel. We have lived in a few different places around the country during his working years:  Orlando area, Atlanta, Baton Rouge, Pittsburgh, and we finally settled in central Ohio at the end of his career. We have six grandchildren, four of whom live with us, along with our daughter, who is finishing her degree at Ohio State. We love having them so close. They keep us young and active.

 

In closing, Mrs. Sublette, I want you to know how much your being my teacher has meant to me over the years. I’m sorry that I never took the time to write to you before now, but I hope that it will bring a good feeling to you, knowing that I really enjoyed having you in my life. I hope that you are well and enjoying life.

 

With fondness and best regards,

P.S.  The entire time I have been writing this letter, I’ve imagined you holding a red marking pencil in your hand, and correcting my mistakes. 🙂

I left out a lot of the reasons why I dropped out of college without giving it the, ahem, “old college try”, but I thought she might think it was partly her fault, and it wasn’t at all. I just didn’t want to muddy the waters.

I really hope that she receives it. Fingers crossed.

See you soon,

Susan

13 thoughts on “What I wrote

  1. Wonderful! My mom taught high school (music) for a very long time, and a letter like yours would make her month–if not longer. Teaching is such hard work and to know that the effort has been appreciated, much less valued, is the ultimate compliment. You did good!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s a perfect letter, Susie, and a kind and generous gesture. If I got something like that from one of my music students decades later, I’d be absolutely thrilled. Good on you! I’m curious about something, though – why were you nervous about mailing it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, dear friend! “Grand” gestures always make me nervous, I guess. What if she doesn’t remember me? Silly, I know. Even if she doesn’t, she will hopefully still be pleased. I’m hoping that we can start a conversation. I would really like to know more about her life, and who she is as a person. Why didn’t I try to know her better back then? Dumb teenagers! 🙂

      Like

  3. This is a wonderful letter in its own right and I hope Mrs. Sublette receives it and revels in knowing the impact she had on you. Since she had to subdue the rowdy boys regularly, she might not have guessed a girl in the room was hanging on her every word and taking all of her instruction to heart. Can’t wait to find out what you find out!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Mary! Poor Mrs. Sublette, she barely had an impact on those boys. I believe the only thing that kept them halfway in line was the threat of a paddling from Mr. Hayes. I think she did notice that I was her most attentive student. She always looked at me when she was lecturing. Probably trying to keep her sanity. I really hope that I hear back from her, too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

